Dark and Angry

Kübler-Ross’s model for grief doesn’t seem to apply here, as it suggests five distinct stages in a particular order – denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance – and that’s not what’s happening right now.

In fact, further research suggests this theory is really only a theory, and others argue this model only applies to people whose loss is the passing of a loved one.

Grief, in general, applies to loss. Of anything significant. Maybe I’m still grieving New York City, which sounds downright pathetic.

Thing is, I can’t tell if I’m grieving, or if I’m just depressed and angry. I struggle with it. I go out and spend time with friends, I look for work, I go to church, I strive to be good. But my mind recedes into the shadows.

Throw guilt on top of that – feeling I’m always saying or doing something wrong or hurtful or making things more complicated than they are.

On the bright side, the dark thoughts that used to enter my head haven’t tried lately. These ideas used to visit me on subway platforms and other places.

I don’t feel I can really talk about it. I mean, I was getting better at talking to anybody about whatever I wanted. But if I were to try opening my mouth and uttering words – actual soundbytes – I wouldn’t be able to. It’s frustrating.

The best I can do is sum up: I’m sad and angry and guilty.

It’s time to get ready for church.

2 thoughts on “Dark and Angry

  1. Which is either the best place to go when you’re feeling like this, or the absolute WORST… Hopefully it will be the best today 🙂

A little discussion.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.